The Covington Municipal-Regional Planning Commission met on December 3, 2024, at 12:00 p.m. with the following members present: Chairman Joe Auger, Vice Chairman Sammy Beasley, Secretary Jason Poyner, Commissioners: Sue Rose, Louise McBride, C.H. Sullivan, Sara Carter, and Annette Johnson. Also present were the Planner Will Radford, Building Official Lessie Fisher, Code Technician Phyllis Mayfield, Fire Inspector Rusty Thigpen, Chris Norton, Mitzi McCallum, Joel Johnson, Ethan Whitley, and Harold Morris.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Joe Auger.

Open for Public Comment - No comments

Motion was made by C.H. Sullivan and seconded by Sammy Beasley that the minutes of the preceding meeting be approved. Motion passed.

Site Plan was submitted by Chris Norton with Braganza Design for TCAT Covington at 1600 Hwy 51 South, Map 050A Group A Parcel 9.00.

C.H. Sullivan made a motion to approve. Sammy Beasley seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Rezoning request was submitted on behalf of Gene C.E. and Dorothy Butler's heirs for property located at 710 and 716 Hwy 51 South, Map 041G Group E Parcel 2.00 to be rezoned from B-2 (Highway Business) to R-2 (Medium Density Residential District).

C.H. Sullivan made a motion to deny the request. Sara Carter seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Conceptual site plan was submitted to construct a restaurant at the intersection of Burgess Lane and Highway 51 South. No motion needed, only feedback and discussion.

Rezoning request was submitted on behalf of Helen Burgess Living Trust to rezone 2.46 acres on Burgess Lane and Highway 51 South from R-1 (Low Density Residential) District to B-2 (Highway Business) District, Map 041P Group A Parcel 3.00.

C.H. Sullivan made a motion to approve. Sara Carter seconded the motion. Motion passed.

C.H. Sullivan made a motion, seconded by Sara Carter, to adjourn the meeting. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:35 p.m.