The Covington Municipal-Regional Planning Commission met on April 2, 2024, at 12:00 p.m. with the following members present: Chair Joe Auger, Vice Chairman Sammy Beasley, Secretary Alice Fisher, Commissioners: Sue Rose, C.H. Sullivan, Annette Johnson, and Louise McBride. Also present were Building Official Lessie Fisher, Planner Will Radford, Code Officer Jennifer Nolen, Code Technician Phyllis Mayfield, Fire Chief Richard Griggs and Jason Dittrich.

Meeting was called to order by Joe Auger.

Motion was made by Alice Fisher and seconded by C.H. Sullivan that the minutes of the preceding meeting be approved. Motion passed.

New Business:

Site plan was submitted for Covington Elementary and Middle Schools on Mark Walker Jr. Drive. C.H. Sullivan made a motion to approve. Alice Fisher seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Municipal Text Amendment – Adoption of Standards for Distilleries in the B-4 (Artisan Business) District. C.H. Sullivan made a motion to approve the text amendment. Alice Fisher seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Will Radford provided information on how Planned Unit Developments are considered.

Other Business:

Lessie Fisher informed the members that Benton Lindsey has agreed to serve, in Laine Olesen's position.

C.H. Sullivan made a motion, seconded by Sammy Beasley to adjourn the meeting. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:57 p.m.

Next meeting to be May 7, 2024.